Author Crush- Jojo Moyes and her band of heartfelt reads… 


I can freely admit that I am an extremely obsessive person. I wouldn’t call it OCD, but rather when I find something I love I just can’t seem to get enough of it. My brother still makes fun of me that I used to always make the same homemade barbecue pizza for lunch. Every. Single. Day. I can’t help it; when I find my new flavour, I literally have it every day of the month. Naturally, my obsessive personality shines through in my reading choices. Once I find a truly amazing read, I cannot stop talking about it, referring others to read it or sneakily take photos of it… 

One of my extreme obsessions is reading stories just before the film version is released. I don’t think I’m alone in this one. Some stories I endeavoured to do this with were Rick Yancey’s ‘The Fifth Wave,’and many moons ago Stephanie Meyer’s ‘The Host.’ I love pre-reading the film version because I go into viewing the movie with my own set of personal expectations that the movie has to live up too. My most recent pre-reading story before the anticipated movie release was Jojo Moyes’ ‘Me Before You.’


I walked past this story so many times in the bookstore. There was so much talk surrounding the ethics and morality of this story and I couldn’t wait to read it for myself! Moyes writes about a recently fired Lousia Clark who is now struggling to support her boisterous family and find new employment. She’s stuck in a rut until she meets Will Traynor, a quadriplegic struck down by a tragic motorbike accident. This book was one of those heartfelt tales that grabbed me until the early hours of the morning. I can’t count the amount of times I said to myself “just one more chapter…” I was fighting against my dropping eyelids just to find out what happened to the characters as I became so invested in their development. Alas, I had found my new flavour of the month, and dear reader it was all things Jojo… 📚

One of my best friends and I went to see the film together at the movies. We had a both recently read the story and made sure we were equipped with tissues and the largest box of popcorn we could purchase! We both, on cue, handed each other tissues at all the sad moments. It was absolutely amazing to see Lou and Will come to life on screen, they are perfectly cast characters of Emilia Clark and Sam Claflin. Moyes’ story did come under fire for her discussion of quadraplegics and the ethical debate surrounding Euthanasia. I must say, reading the book first was much better and Moyes is able to justify characters thoughts, actions and decisions more elequently in the book than the two hour duration of the film.

Me Before You 🍵🍵🍵🍵🍵/5

After seeing the movie I just wanted to read more of her books! I was recommended to read Jojo Moyes’ story ‘The One Plus One,’ by my friend who read the story while travelling overseas! ‘The One Plus One’ follows single Mum Jess’ plight to support her kids, balance two jobs as a waitress and cleaner and attempts to engage in romance. Jess takes her kids Tanzie and Nicky on a drive to Scotland to participate in an annual Maths Olympiad so her daughter Tanzie can financially support a scholarship fee to attend a prestigious school…

Two adults, two kids and a smelly but adorable dog all crammed together in the one car are the perfect ingredients for a heartfelt tale… 

The story itself is very long, but I found myself laughing out loud from the humour of Moyes’ characters. Moyes is so real with her story telling and it is so easy to relate to each of her main characters. Also, this story is told from multiple points of view which is always a big tick from me! As a standalone novel, it is the perfect addition dear reader to your ‘to be read list…’

‘The One Plus One’ 🍵🍵🍵🍵/5

It did take me a while to get through ‘The One Plus One,’ but it only left me wanting to read more of Jojo’s work! I was quick onto the sequel to ‘Me Before You’ called ‘After You.’ At first I was reluctant to start the sequel, just because of how profoundly moved I was by the first one. Also, sequels run the risk of ruining the groundwork laid by the original story. Regardless, as soon as I started Jojo had me in the palm of her hand…

My puppy Percival was very keen to jump into ‘Me Before You’s’ sequel…

‘After You’ spoke to me because it was completely unique from the first story. Indeed it does pick up from the pieces of ‘Me Before You’s’ ending, however Moyes pushes Lou into more personal and emotional challenges. I must advise that indeed ‘Me Before You’ must be read first, but this sequel does not subtract from the glorious story, only adds to the beauty of it.
After You 🍵🍵🍵🍵/5

While currently I am not reading any Jojo Moyes stories, I am well prepared and have stocked up on her books to read next!

Night Music


Night Music follows the aftermath of Isabel Delancey’s husband passing away and her struggle to support her two young children. In her quest to survive against the odds, Isabel discovers through new friends comes a fresh perspective on life. I’m really looking forward to reading this one and am saving it for a weekend where I can laze around on the couch.

Silver Bay


Silver Bay is a small town offering solace from the hustle and bustle of city life for Liza McCullen and her daughter Hannah. With the arrival of an unexpected guest to the local hotel, Silver Bay is turned upside down. This also sounds like another feel good read filled with Jojo’s rich writing.

The Peacock Emporium


I have actually read the first chapter of this book and it explores the connections between present and past of the main character Suzanna Peacock. I’m looking forward to reading this story, as I feel Jojo will be able to beautifully capture the relationship between Mothers and their Daughters.

The brilliant thing about finding an author like Jojo is that she has multiple stories that you can continue on with. And they all their own unique characters,setting and plot! That’s why I love authors like Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult. Their writing is the gift that keeps on giving. I hope dear reader that you make some time for Ms Moyes’ books as you will be pleasantly surprised by her penmanship. For now, I will be busy finding my next reading obsession (Don’t worry, it won’t take me too long!)

Happy Reading,

Miss Book Dependent xo

Leave a Reply

